top of page

A Few Things About Me

Thank you for being in this space, here is a bit about me.



HI there! If you don't already know, my name is Amber. I love thrifting, vintage rugs, wicker furniture, handmade clothing, local food & small farms, mom & pop shops, bluegrass music, hikes in nature, the River, walking to our favorite spots in town, good coffee.


I am raising my girls to be strong, confident little women with my amazing husband Jason. I have been a stay at home mama for three years. It has been the hardest, yet most rewarding chapter in life thus far. Sometimes I forget not to yell and then I take like a million deep breaths to get me back down to earth. Yelling gets us nowhere and just makes everyone feel crappy.


I love taking photos of everything, especially my sweet daughters. I studied photography in college, photojournalism to be exact. I started out photographing nature and didn't always love photographing people. I grew to love taking photos of people, when I would get assigned projects like taking photos of the antique collector downtown and getting to know his story, and now prefer it to nature. I love capturing people in their element, which is why I am so drawn to life style photography. I have been gaining experience with my own little family over the last few years.


A couple of years ago I started a small kid's clothing business, I made adorable clothes and loved it a lot. I lost inspiration with it about a year ago and was a bit lost on how to fulfill my creative spirit. That's when I came back to photography, my first love.


I love supporting and sharing small businesses. I think they are very necessary for the future of our world. Handmade and well-made items always bring me SO much JOY! And it's important to fill your home with things that bring you joy (I know this and I didn't even watch Marie Kondo lol). I think we need to move away from toys and clothing that will eventually end up in the landfill. Choose Less, Choose Better.


I think it's important for children to play with toys that make them use their imagination and creativity. Open-ended toys, made of natural materials, are very important tools in our house. I am very honored to be working with many amazing (mostly women-owned) small shops specializing mainly in Waldorf and nature inspired toys. You will be seeing posts about them here on the blog and on Instagram (@driftless.wanderings).


I had two home births, they were liberating and life changing. I always love sharing the knowledge I have gained with those experiences. Please feel free to connect with me about birthing and motherhood. Or if you are a new mama and need some support, I am here for you. Seriously! I will be honored to chat. Birth is beautiful and empowering! I will also be sharing some birth related blog posts here.


I just realized I need to take some self portraits soon, I have none to show for the last year or so, that's why there is a photo of a rug and my feet, and coffee (the most important thing). (lol)


I am really excited to be on this new journey and I am grateful you are choosing to travel it with me. Thank you for being here and supporting me. Truly!


XOXOX

Amber

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page